Don’t Ask What You Can Do For Web 2.0, Ask What Web 2.0 Can Do For You

Well hello there. Nice to see that you have chosen to return for another dose of my blog. Hopefully your visit will be a pleasurable one. So….this weeks blogging topic….well as we all know, I’m fairly new to all of this Web 2.0 stuff so I have chosen to undertake task a) and do some serious research on Web 2.0 tools, to find out just how useful they can be. Just in case you were wondering, I’m not completely Web 2.0 challenged, yes I do have a facebook account, but up until 2 weeks ago, I didn’t have a twitter account, I’d never blogged before and I thought that del.icio.us was an awesome Australian cooking magazine. Yes I know, shock, horror, no Twitter.

How on earth could I function as a human being without Twitter? Well, to this day I still cannot answer this question, it is one of the great mysteries of the universe. However, I am sure that some time, in the not too distant future, I’ll be wondering how I ever did without it. And this is not just because I will now find out in real-time exactly what Ashton Kutcher and R-Patz are up to. No my friends, it is due to the fact that businesses worldwide are embracing the powers of Web 2.0 technologies, and it is becoming increasingly necessary to have a finger in all of the social networking pies.

So in order to broaden my knowledge for both my benefit and yours (we’re learning together now don’t forget), I did me some reading. Actually, I did a lot of reading and I subscribed to a few websites (geeze, my digital fingerprint is all over the shop now) and I became quite well acquainted with the big, bad world of Web 2.0 tools. So how can all of these wonderful tools help me?

Well, first things first;
Brief background check: I am currently employed in a 24×7 shift position responsible for network monitoring and maintenance.
Next;
How is this relevant?:

  • My team is required to keep a logbook of all of the important events that happen during each of our shifts so that other members of the team can make reference to things that happened when they were on working. It is also required for auditing purposes.
  • There are a lot of information repositories that we can go to, to gather the information we need to assess network faults and failures so that we can fix the problem ASAP.
  • We have an aging work force who are all retiring at a rate of knots and are taking with them all of their knowledge and experiences.
  • We handle a large number of outage notifications from both external providers and internal groups.

And finally;
What does this have to do with the Web 2.0 tools and how can they help me?:

NOTE: Despite how daggy this is going to sound, I am currently overcome with excitement because of how much easier my job would become if I could convince my manager to consider implementing some of these tools. I’m having pathetic teenage girl daydreams about how happy my life would be if I could just have some of these things in it.

Ahem. So yes, back to the task at hand:

  • BLOGS – It would be exceptionally helpful if the manual logging that we are required to do could be implemented in the form of a blog. If not just for the simplicity of typing a description of the event that took place rather than writing it in a book, but for searching for previous events. It is very tedious flipping through pages of poor handwriting looking for references to things that happened days ago.
  • TAGGING – Very handy for referencing things in the potential logbook Blog. It would make searches for past events very, very quick and easy. (I have now implemented this is my Blog, making your searching efforts all the more simpler. Well done me.)
  • SOCIAL BOOKMARKING – I like this idea a lot too. I signed myself up to del.icio.us so I could find out exactly what this is all about, and I think that this would be a wonderful tool for any organisation. At present, whenever we come across a document, diagram or a file that could be of use to the team, we broadcast an email to everyone letting them know how awesome it is and all we end up with is an inbox full of rubbish and the odd bookmark or file copy for future reference. It would be so much more convenient for each team member to have an account that we could each subscribe to which contains helpful links. Love this idea and I think that I’m going to start using it to give you guys access to some of the links that I have found useful.
  • WIKIs – A wiki would be a great tool for staff to use to share information with each other. It could be very handy for knowledge management. On a side note, when I was working in my old team, we did maintain a wiki for the management of outage notifications from our external providers. I would like to possibly get this going again. I’ll keep you posted on my progress with this project.
  • RSS – Great way of letting other staff members know when you’ve updated and blog, wiki or bookmarked a new document. This would be a great alternative to the dreaded broadcast email.

So why do you care?

  • Well, I find it very hard to believe that all companies have jumped on the Enterprise 2.0 bandwagon. I’m sure some of you can relate to some of the above points that I have made.
  • Maybe if we arm ourselves with the right knowledge, we can get some of the above Web 2.0 tools implemented in our workplaces for the benefit of not just ourselves, but the companies that we work for.

References:

Wikipedia:

  • Web 2.0
  • Enterprise 2.0
  • Wikis
  • Social Networking Services
  • Twitter
  • Blog
  • RSS
  • Social Media
  • Tagging
  • Advertisements
    This entry was posted in INB346 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    6 Responses to Don’t Ask What You Can Do For Web 2.0, Ask What Web 2.0 Can Do For You

    1. These are great ideas, I imagine that given the huge volume of information you’re working with that curation tools like delicious or bundlr would make the team more effective plus make it easier for new starters. Your strategy would also lead to improvements to the customer experience as application and infrastructure teams gain greater transparency into the results from the monitoring you have in place … And not just when there’s a problem. Good luck building your business case, it sounds like you’ve got some very compelling arguments!

    2. Hi Candice,

      Great post. It’s good to see that you’re not only mentioning some tools that are good for productivity, but also mentioning how you could actually incorporate them into real life scenarios. Personally I think the blog idea for logging events at your job would be a great idea, purely for the simplicity of searching (as you mentioned) and also archiving. If you need to reference an event that happened in say January, you could simply select January from the menu and half of the search is over.I suppose the only potential negative to such tools like social networking is becoming addicted (like me) and being tempted to check Facebook etc at work constantly 😛

      Also, I think you’ve chosen a good writing style by choosing to keep your posts personal while still intelligence.

      Cheers,
      Mark

    3. shaungoossens says:

      Hi Candice,
      Nice post, a personal touch and a bit of humor mixed with interesting topics.
      I can certainly see how using wiki’s would help out in your workplace and hope you can convince your manager!
      – Shaun

      • ilovebrisbane says:

        Hi Candice,
        That is so cool . Great post. I like your article structure is relevant context. Firstly, you point to individuals’ thinking for Web2.0 , then sharing your experience of Web 2.0 tools.Finally, you finding reason for using Web2.0.

    4. Pingback: Enterprise 2.0: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly | candiceruddle

    5. Pingback: Internal Social Networking for Airservices: Can getting employees to talk to each other boost engagement? | candiceruddle

    Leave a Reply

    